Dell G2724D thoughts and feedback

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 67 total)

Buying a monitor? Please refer to this post before purchasing.
New user? Register here.

• Author
    Roostyla

I posted a few weeks ago about replacing my Dell S2719DGF , an older TN panel. I settled on the Dell G2724D after a big price drop they ran, Β£209 UK , reviews from other outlets showed it seemed to perform well and be a good price albeit without any frills or features which suited my use case. I’m by no means an expert in monitors and have limited comparisons but ill offer my thoughts and if anyone has questions do let me know.

Pros
      Incredibly fluid and handles motion with Gsync very well, in CS2 , Apex and Doom Eternal its a dream to zip around at 165hz (if i can get that high fps with a 2080) I don’t see any ghosting or white ‘powdery trails’ that the TN panel had.

Great colours, a massive step up in this area. Apex does not let you use an ICC profile it being source 1 engine but I don’t need one now, it’s far better balanced and its not grey/green flat wash out.

No dead pixels

Cons
      Out of the box settings are pretty awful, I also found the SRGB mode to not be satisfactory, this is entirely subjective of course but I dialled back the Green/Yellow tint it had massively and dropped the brightness down to a more comfortable level.

IPS backlight bleed/ glow. I thought I would be ready for this but it was a bit shocking, IPS panels are meant to have good viewing angles but the way it handles blacks off centre horizontally and vertically does rob dark areas with greyish tint (lower left side in my case) Also the edges If I was spending Β£400 + it would be a dealbreaker and would return it. The TN panel was far more consistent in this regard. I read that this can improve over time.

Some additional thoughts….
      In Nvidia control panel you can enable 10 bit colour which windows recognises, might be placebo but looks better