Viewsonic XG2405 vs AOC 24G2U

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 70 total)

Buying a monitor? Please refer to this post before purchasing.
New user? Register here.

• Author
    Ek0

After reading a lot , I’m between these two options , there are no reviews of the Viewsonic XG2405 model yet so I can’t decide.

I’m gonna be using the monitor to play League of Legends mostly. Which one would you suggest? Do you think the XG2405 has a faster responsiveness than the AOC 24G2U?

Thank you so much.

PCM2

Hi Ek0,

I’m afraid I have no experience with the ViewSonic XG2405 nor any user feedback to share. I may review it at some point, but can’t promise anything as I’ve got a huge and growing list of monitors I’d like to look at and can’t review all of them.

It’s very unlikely that the ViewSonic is more responsive than the AOC 24G2(U), because it uses the same CELL (panel minus backlight) and the 24G2(U) really gets as much out of the panel as you can reasonably expect. There’s really very little room for improvement in that respect, without using a different panel (and I haven’t come across any significantly faster ~144Hz IPS-type panel). ViewSonic are usually good at pixel overdrive tuning and achieving low input lag, though, so I would expect responsiveness to be similar.

The main difference of note, aside from features and aesthetics which differ between the two, is that the ViewSonic is a standard gamut model vs. wide gamut for the AOC. The colour output on the AOC is more vibrant and saturated, whereas on the ViewSonic it will be ‘rich and natural’ – more muted, but truer to the original sRGB intentions of the developers. Personal preferences are important in that respect.

PCM2

Did you end up buying either model Ek0?

Ek0

I bought the Viewsonic XG2405, I love the colors and the overall quality of it. However I’m a bit dissapointed with the responsiveness, I had a BenQ XL2411Z and I can feel the difference while playing League of Legends or Cs:Go.