30-32" 4K for photo editing: what's the best choice?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 54 total)

Buying a monitor? Please refer to this post before purchasing.
New user? Register here.

• Author
    floyd

Hello!

There are many reasons to love the internet and many reasons to hate it. This forum is definitely one of the reasons to love it. What an incredible amount of valuable and insightful information and advice! Thank you for taking the time, effort and expense to respond to people’s questions and doing so many in-depth reviews of monitors.

Okay, to my reason for posting the thread:

I am a photographer looking for a 32″ 4K monitor specifically for editing photos in Lightroom, which will then be printed on a Canon Pro 1000 printer. I’m coming from a 27″ iMac screen. From everything I’ve read online the BenQ PD3200U is the top recommended monitor, though the LG 32UD99 has gotten some positive reviews as well. But I’m hesitant to pull the trigger for two reasons. First: Flickering. Second: A newer model (though likely more expensive), the PD3220U is in the “near” future.

I’ve read the many Amazon reviews about the well-documented flickering problem. I’ve also read the responses by BenQ to these customers. It appears BenQ offers strong customer support by replacing monitors for those who experienced this problem. While the support and three-year warranty offer comfort, the hassle of having to pack and send back a 32″ monitor (maybe more than once!) is a concern. I’ll be using the monitor on a 2018 15″ MacBook Pro. Maybe this isn’t an issue on the newer MacBooks.

The possibility of a new monitor release in this category also concerns me. I don’t want to buy older technology in the PD3200U if a newer version is on the horizon.