I need help picking a gaming monitor between ASUS TUF Gaming VG279QM or OMEN 27q

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

Buying a monitor? Please refer to this post before purchasing.
New user? Register here.

• Author
    kashlol

Hi everyone I’m a digital artist but I play a ton of fps games competitively. Which monitor would suit me the best looking for a 240hz monitor that’s amazing for gaming and art.

ASUS TUF Gaming VG279QM

Or

OMEN 27qs

I chose these 2 monitors since they both on a huge discount in my area I would appreciate the help ! Thanks

PCM2

Hi kashlol,

The problem with the OMEN 27qs is that reviews are rather inconsistent – and a large problem is that they interchangeably use multiple panels. So you never quite know what you’re going to get, as noted in this thread. Unless things have changed recently and I’m unaware, the ASUS VG279QM doesn’t do that and it appears to perform quite well overall. It offers a good level of responsiveness with good pixel overdrive flexibility – but the optimal setting does depend on refresh rate (i.e. not a ‘single overdrive mode experience), decent contrast for the panel type and reasonable sRGB output.

Your digital art, if I’m not mistaken, is likely to be in the sRGB colour space and the ASUS will give you decent results there (with more flexibility than the HP which is a wide gamut option). For best results you should consider investing in your own colorimeter or similar device with either model, or whichever other option you choose for that matter. Some people prefer their games to look highly vibrant, even if oversaturated, and that’s where the HP would have an edge.

kashlol

Thanks for the help if you have any monitors 240hz recommendations I’ll gladly check them out

I will probably try get the Asus since both monitors are on discount in the uk

PCM2