4K 144Hz vs Ultrawide 144Hz

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)

Buying a monitor? Please refer to this post before purchasing.

• Author
    Dentnu

Hi, I am in the process of buying a new monitor. I have been using a PG279Q for about 4 years now. I would like to upgrade to either a 4k 144hz or ultrawide 144hz in the $1000 range. I will be using it for gaming. I have been doing allot of researching for the last few day and the only two monitors that fit this bill and I am interested in is the Acer XB273K or the LG 34GK950F-B. I am leaning towards the XB273K but honestly I can’t decided. I now see Acer has listed two new XB273K monitors on there website. One of them has the same specs as the one that is already out and the other seems to have native 144hz and 1ms VBS response time. The price on these are allot cheaper and don’t know if I should wait for these new one to come out before buying a monitor. With that said I don’t want to wait 6 months or anything like that. I am now confused don’t know which route to take. Should I just wait or buy one now with these monitors costing so much I thought I’d ask here and see if someone can help me make a decision. I have a few questions if you don’t mind answering for me that would be great. Thanks

1. Should I go for a 4k 144hz or Ultrawide 144hz ? I know my options are limited but which one of those is the better choice ?

2. I keep hearing people say 27 inch is to small for 4k is that true ?

3. I could not find any info regarding any new panels that supports 4k and 144hz natively @ Full Range RGB. All the ones out now are 120hz that are overclockable to 144hz and I believe that DP and HDMI out right now don’t have the bandwidth to push 4k and 144hz with Full Range RGB. Is there a panel in the works coming out soon that will support 4k and 144hz natively @ Full Range RGB?

4. What would you do buy a Acer XB273K now or wait for the new ones to come out ?

PCM2

Hi Dentnu and welcome,