AOC G2590PX Interlace Pattern Artifacts – Suggestions?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

Buying a monitor? Please refer to this post before purchasing.
New user? Register here.

• Author
    Adz

Hello Adam, I see that there is another thread about this monitor but my issue differs a bit.

I recently got this AOC monitor a couple of days ago and had no real idea of what to expect, coming from an older 60Hz LCD. It’s a great step up but unfortunately I also notice the interlace artifacts which you touch upon in the review. To me the pattern is kind of annoying since I have a hard time not noticing it and I now understand what you meant in the review more clearly. Being static in a game (CS:GO) shows a clear picture but when strafing and moving the crosshair these dark lines appear on walls and other surroundings and have a kind of dimming effect.

It is annoying although I can live with it. But since I have very little experience of monitors I just wonder if there is any point in returning the G2590PX and look for a monitor with less obvious, or no, interlace pattern artifacts? Maybe it’s common.

The AOC C24G1 is an alternative and while it may ghost a bit more and be a bit less responsive than a TN-panel I understood it doesn’t have the same obvious artifact patterns?
      There are also other TN-panels but I’m assuming all the new monitors with the thinner bezels use the same panel type and would likely suffer from the same issue? I’m thinking of monitors like the Lenovo Y25f-10 (144Hz) and the Acer KG251QD (240 hz, likely a different panel) which both are newer with thinner bezels.

I’d appreciate any input!

I’ve also donated via paypal since I think this site does a great job with thorough reviewing which, really great work.

PCM2

Hi Adz and welcome,